Gateway Buick GMC Classic | 75 – 77 (MC)

Round 1

The first round was a tough one. The weather definitely wasn’t on the good side in the morning. I teed off at 8:40 with a little sprinkle, and once we got onto the first green the rain picked up quite a bit. It didn’t let up until about the eighth hole, but even though the rain let up the wind didn’t. It was a cool 60 degrees all day it seemed and it never quite warmed up. Pretty weird for May in Texas, right? Nonetheless, the course was still gettable. The greens were a little firm but they were still rolling smooth. Ball striking was pretty steady all day, I hit some really solid shots out there. The putter was starting to heat up a little bit on the front but steadied out throughout the round. It wasn’t until the 15th hole did I have my first three putt for the past six or seven rounds. Just a few little mistakes here and there kept me from going pretty low out there. With that being said, I’ve recognized the problem and am continuing to work on fixing it. I’m starting to get a little bit more confident as the days go by, and I can’t wait till it all comes together. 75 isn’t a horrible score, but there is always room for improvement!

Round 2

After the morning wave had a two hour rain delay, I didn’t tee off until about 3:40. Super late tee time. I passed the time nicely in the morning with some stretching/yoga and relaxing a bit before I went to go get lunch. The only thing I was worried about was being able to finish the round before dark. We did just that. Right after we teed off they blew three horns calling play due to darkness. Under the rules, if the horn is blown three times then you are allowed to finish the hole out, but if its just one horn blast then you must suspend play immediately. Unfortunately I wasn’t playing up to my potential at that point. The front nine wasn’t a bad score. I was one-under at the turn after what seemed like a par saving front nine. I was missing greens but I was getting up and down from everywhere to save par. Lee Trevino said it best though, “There are two things that won’t last long in this world, and that’s dogs chasing cars and pros putting for pars.” I cruised on the first couple of holes on my back nine, but after one bad tee shot out of bounds that resulted in a triple bogey, I slowly started to struggle. At that point I was just ready to get the round done. There are still a lot of positives to take from this round. Always a learning process.

 

I’m headed home from Dallas where I will take a few days off from the game. It’ll be a few weeks before I get to play in another tournament so a break will help me out a ton. I’m looking forward to what’s next though. It’s always fun traveling and playing the game I love. I want to give a big shout out to the Kelley Family for letting me stay with y’all for the past couple of days. They were one of the nicest people I’ve met on this trip, and their two dogs, Fenway and Riley, were even sweeter! Thank you everyone again for your support, it means so much to me.

Until Next Time!

Leave a comment